top of page

Colby & Banningham Parish Council 

Colby & Banningham Parish Councillors

Chairman -  Mr Richard Anderson-Dungar

Vice-Chairman - Mrs Penny Ashby

Mr Nigel Andrews

Mr Seamus Elliott

Mr David Holgate

Mrs Jill Morgan

Mrs Serena Woolliams

All Councillors can be contacted via the Clerk, and their registered interests forms are available via the North Norfolk District Council website

The Role of a Councillor


A councillor is a member of the council and is normally elected for a term of four years.  People of any political or religious persuasion are eligible to become a councillor, although their personal views should not extend into their parish council work. A councillor is an unpaid voluntary role.

They are elected to represent the interests of the local community as a whole and promote a harmonious local environment. The number of elected councillors depends on the size of the area. In Colby & Banningham we are able to have 7 councillors.


Local councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. They are democratically elected local authorities and exist in England, Wales and Scotland. The term ‘local council’ is synonymous with ‘parish council’, ‘town council’ and ‘community council’.

bottom of page