top of page

The Parish Council


The Role of a Councillor


The Parish Council consists of seven people elected to represent the residents of Colby and Banningham.


Parish Councillors (also known as Members) serve a four year term of office. The Council has a wide range of powers which essentially relate to local matters, such as looking after community buildings, open spaces and common land, and to overall manage the parish assets.


Local Councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. They are democratically elected local authorities and exist in England, Wales and Scotland. The term 'Local Council' is synonymous with ' Parish Council, 'Town Council' and 'Community Council'.


Local Councils are made up of locally  elected Councillors. They are legally obliged to hold at least four meetings a year.  Most meet on a monthly cycle to discuss council business and hear from local residents.  District and County Councillors regularly attend parish meetings and report at the Annual Parish meeting. Councillors are expected to attend meetings on a regular basis.​​

Parish Council Register of Interests


All Parish Councillors are required by law to complete a register of interest form to register their Disclosable Pecuniary Interests and the Disclosable Pecuniary Interests of their spouses or civil partners or persons with whom they live in that capacity.  Guidance – Openness and transparency on personal interests: guidance for councillors


Our Councillors’ Register of Members’ Disclosable Pecuniary Interests can be found on the District Council’s website.​

Parish Councillors


Currently all Members live within the Parish and are pro-active for the benefit of the village attending not only the parish council meetings but also meetings with other organisations.


Members are also actively involved in work throughout the village.



Mr Richard Anderson-Dungar


Mrs Penny Ashby


Mr Nigel Andrews

Mr Seamus Elliott

Mr David Holgate

Mrs Jill Morgan

Mrs Serena Woolliams​

All Councillors can be contacted via the Clerk, and their registered interests forms are available via the North Norfolk District Council website

bottom of page